top of page

Satellites

I am trying to get several components to work together, all in the name of Satellite Communications.

I am using my trusty Yaesu FT-847 radio, nicknamed the Earth Station, as the basis of a Voice Transceiver, but in order for it to communicate, I need several other items in play.

1. Antenna.

The Antenna requires two frequency bands, namely 2M and 70CM, where one is used as the uplink and the 2nd as a downlink. I have a dual band antenna sopecifically for Satellite Comms, known as the Arrow II Satellite Antenna, see http://www.arrowantennas.com/arrowii/146-437.html

2. Azimuth/Elevation tracking mount.

The Antenna can be handheld, but my idea is to mount this antenna on top of a Meade Az/El telescope mount (instead of the telescope) and use a PC to control its movements.

3. Ham Radio Deluxe.

This is a piece of software that controls the radio, through an RS-232C connection. It lets me control frequency and modulation method, e.g. FM, AM, USB, CW, etc. But more importantly it comes with an additional programme that understand satellite locations and passes, and can adapt the radio for doppler shift frequencies during the pass. HRD can manage mounts, but is only focused on the expensive Ham RAdio Az/El mounts and not cheap telescope mounts.

4. Satellite Tracker from heavenscape (http://www.heavenscape.com/)

This software also knows about Satellite passes and can control the Meade Az/El mount. Unfortunately the two pieces of software do not talk to each other and will have to run independantly.

5. Yaesu FT-847 Transceiver

This is the work horse the center of this and has just been recalibrated (XMAS 2015), so should be working top notch.


  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Tumblr Black Round
Rob Amstel -
Entrepreneur, Speaker & Author

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. Let your users get to know you.

Business Plan
Writing A-Z

 

FREE COURSE
(Valued at $250)
 

Learn all you need in order to create a stellar business plan
for your endeavor!

Business Plan

Writing A-Z

 
FREE COURSE
(Valued at $250)
 

Learn all you need in order to create a

stellar business plan for your endeavor!

My Book
 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. Let your users get to know you.

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page